Hitotsubashi Journal of Economics


Aims and Scope

Hitotsubashi Journal of Economics (HJE), initiated in 1960, is a general-interest journal that publishes high-quality and innovative research in all disciplines of economics, edited jointly by Hitotsubashi Universityʼs Faculty of Economics and Institute of Economic Research. Building upon the strong tradition of Hitotsubashi University, established in 1875 as the first business school in Japan, HJE aims at striking a good balance of theoretical and empirical research by publishing a wide range of theoretical and empirical papers. We welcome papers that articulate their novel and significant contributions to the literature in clear and plain language. Papers published in HJE, an open access journal included in the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) journal list, attract wide international readership and citations, reflected in its growing impact factor.

About this Journal

Included in the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) journal list.

5 Year Impact Factor 2022: 0.8, 2021: 0.766, 2020: 0.473, 2019: 0.569, 2018: 0.415

Turnaround Time (2021-2022 average) Mean time to rejection in the first round: 13 days Mean time to first decision: 10 days Mean time from submission to acceptance of final version: 125 days Mean time from receipt of final version to print publication: 170 days


Hitotsubashi Journal of Economics is an open access journal, published twice annually. Table of contents for each issue and all the papers published in the journal are downloadable in pdf format for free of charge from HERMES-IR.
Web page of Hitotsubashi Journal of Economics in HERMES-IR

Submission Guidelines

Manuscript should be sent as an e-mail attachment to:

Contact Information

Hitotsubashi Journal Editorial Office: Hitotsubashi University, Kunitachi, Tokyo 186-8601, Japan.

Editorial Team


Hodaka Morita


Nobuhiko Nakazawa     Toshitaka Sekine     Yohei Yamamoto

Associate Editors

Eiji Kurozumi     Reo Takaku     Yuta Takahashi     Takashi Ui     Naoki Wakamori
Naoki Yoshihara     Shota Fujishima     Takeshi Aida     Yuichi Yamamoto

Editorial Administrator

Naoko Tsukamoto

Share On